top of page

learning with us....

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development. 


Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.




Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are: 


• Communication and language

• Physical development

• Personal, social and emotional development


These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.


As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

• Literacy                                              

• Mathematics

• Understanding the world

• Expressive arts and design


All of these 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it's suitable for very young children, and it's designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child's unique needs and interests.


Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

bottom of page